CarbonStore Sponsors Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards 2022 Climate Change Award

11 February 2022

CarbonStore is delighted to be sponsoring the Climate Change Champion Award for Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards for the second consecutive year. This exciting Award aims to celebrate leading examples of Scottish forests and woodlands, which have an important role in mitigating or adapting to climate change as well as playing their role in educating and information sharing on this important subject. Entries are sought from across Scotland and are open to any forest, woodland, school or pre-school climate change related learning project.

The Climate Change Champion Award has been developed in partnership with Forest Research, who will again be judging in 2022. Professor Chris Quine, Chief Scientist at Forest Research, led the team assessing entries, and said the 2021 winner (Balbeg Estate’s Bennan Hill) “demonstrated an integrated approach to tackling climate change throughout its activities with actions relating to mitigation, adaptation and knowledge exchange” and “a strong commitment and a real consistency of vision”.

The Climate Change Award was introduced in 2021 to mark the 26th UN Climate Change Conference of the Parties (COP26) in Glasgow, where the role of forests was underlined in the Glasgow Leader’s Declaration on forests and land use, which is supported by more than 140 countries.

SWA Climate change trophy CarbonStore
CarbonStore Climate Change Champion Trophy

David McCulloch, Head of CarbonStore, sponsor of the Climate Change Champion Award, said:

“CarbonStore is dedicated to helping mitigate climate change by uniting landowners keen to plant trees with companies wanting to offset their residual carbon emissions. We therefore consider ourselves the perfect partner in sponsoring the Climate Change Champion Award in this highly-respected, well-established programme, we look forward to some excellent entries.”

The Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards’ programme strives to showcase the best in Scotland’s woods and forests.  With 80% of the UK’s new woodland currently being planted in Scotland and continued Scottish Government support for ambitious tree planting targets, organisers hope for another exceptional set of winners in 2022.

“Anyone with a genuinely high-quality project has a chance to win an award, whether that’s Scotland’s largest landowner or a small nursery school, or a farmer discovering the benefits of trees to an experienced forester creating a model woodland.”

Said Angela Douglas Executive Director, Scotland’s Finest Woods who operate the annual Awards.

All the other popular categories return in the Awards, which were held online in 2021 after a 2020 Covid-cancellation.

Closing date for entries UPDATE:
Entries for the Climate Change Champion Award have an extended closing date, deadline of end Friday 15th April 2022. 
Any entries received after this date will not be considered. For full details, criteria and entry forms, see:


Enquire about a Project

Call us

01786 649387

* required fields

Pending Issuance Unit: A promise to deliver a Woodland Carbon Unit during a given period, based on the trees’ predicted growth Woodland Carbon Unit: A ton of carbon dioxide which has been sequestered in a scheme verified under the Woodland Carbon Code